Jury of Mumbai edition of the 6th Jagran Film Festival Announced

Jury of Mumbai edition of the 6th Jagran Film Festival Announced

As the buzz builds up to the Mumbai edition of the 6th Jagran Film Festival, list of jury members has been announced. The jury features a heady mix of film makers, music maestros, cinematography experts and film editing veterans.

The jury after watching the films will be selecting the winners in the ‘Indian showcase’ category. The category has a vast lineup of awards for the best screenplay, best cinematographer, best debut director, best music director, best director, best feature film, best actor, best singer, etc.

The jury names include Malayali cinema icon Hariharan as the chairman of the jury along with seasoned Bollywood film maker Pooja Bhatt, Bollywood actor Kunal Kapoor, music sensation Udit Narayan, ace ad-director and cinematographer Mahesh Aney and renowned film editor A Sreekar Prasad.

Hariharan and Shaji N Karun, the two iconic directors will head the Juries at the 6th Jagran Film Festival along with the Indian Showcase and Jagran Shorts Juries respectively.

Hariharan,is an iconic Malayali Cinema director who has over 60 Feature films in his kitty over the past four decades. He has won three National Film Awards and several State Awards.

Shaji Neelakantan Karun is a noted Indian film director, cinematographer and writer who has also won several national and international awards. He rose to prominence for his cinematography for the iconic director Govindan Aravindan. His debut film as a director, ‘Piravi (1988)’ won the Caméra d’Or – Mention d’honneur at the 1989 Cannes Film Festival.

The Indian Showcase Jury will judge 16 awards in various categories like the Best Feature Film, Best Film Director, Best Debut Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Male and Female Singers, Best Music Director and so on. The jury will comprise of highly competent film personalities who have created their own space in the Indian film industry. The Indian Showcase Jury has Actress, Director, Producer Pooja Bhatt, Playback Singer Udit Narayan, Cinematographer Mahesh Aney and Editor Sreekar Prasad.

The Jagran Shorts will be judged by The International Short Film Section for the Best Short Film Award. Headed by Shaji Karun the Jury includes Iranian Actress Mozhgan Taraneh and Actor Kunal Kapoor from India.

Mozhgan Taraneh, is a renowned actress in Iran and has worked in Films, Shorts, Television Serials. She also has directions with five films in her basket. Some of her prominent works are ‘One Happened (Ek Etefaq)’, ‘Classmates (Hamshagerdi)’, ‘Rehaneh’, ‘Parents’ Headache (DardsarValedin)’, ‘Doubt Circle (DairehThardid)’.

Actor Kunal Kapoor is a household name in India having created a name for himself with films like ‘LaagaChunari Mein Daag (2007)’, ‘AajaNachle (2007)’, ‘Bachna Ae Haseeno (2008)’, ‘Lamhaa (2010)  and ‘Don 2’.

The third competitive category at the festival is “Cinema of the Sellers” where the Best Advertising Films and Campaigns will be awarded. The prestigious Jury comprises of K V Sridhar, CEO, Sapient Nitro, Sonal Dabral, Chairman and CEO, DDB Mudra, Ashish Bhasin, Chairman and CEO, South Asia, Dentsu Aegis and Raj Nair, CEO, Madison BMB.

In close collaboration with festival partners such as Whistling Woods International (WWI), Film Federation of India (FFI) and Motion Pictures Dist. Association (India) Pvt Ltd, the 2015 edition is all set to surpass its own last benchmarks of presenting over 25 workshops, 395 screenings in 15 cities.